Art Scholarship Recipients’ Work on View at SBMA Through February 6

The Santa Barbara Museum of Art is exhibiting works by 21 local student artists through February 6. The pieces, which include painting, photography, and woodwork, are on display in the museum’s Family Resource Center. The contributing student artists were crowned winners of the 2022 Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara Art Scholarship Competition on January 20. Each will receive a college scholarship for the 2022-23 academic year.

“We are very happy to renew our partnership with the Santa Barbara Museum of Art. The work submitted by these talented young artists was consistently strong this year, and we are pleased it will receive a wider audience through this fine exhibit in the SBMA Family Resource Center,” said Scholarship Foundation President and CEO Barbara Robertson.

Each year the Scholarship Foundation invites high school seniors in southern Santa Barbara County to submit a portfolio of original work for its art scholarship competition. A panel of prominent local artists judge the submissions. Forty-eight student artists competed this year. Each winner receives a $2,500 scholarship; the best of show winner receives an additional $1,000 scholarship. Serving as judges this year were Anthony Askew and Patti Jacquemain. Judging took place January 20 at the Scholarship Foundation. The Santa Barbara Museum of Art exhibit includes one representative work from each winning portfolio.

Katherine Hedrick, a senior at Santa Barbara High School, was awarded the Schall Family Best of Show Prize. The other art scholarship winners this year are: Eden Andrulaitis (Santa Barbara High School), Josh Brennan (Dos Pueblos High School), Liza Coffin (Providence School), Sarah Collier (Providence School), Gabriella Crisa (San Marcos High School), Jackson Ebbin (Santa Barbara High School), Bella Figueroa (Dos Pueblos High School), Abigail Garcia (Dos Pueblos High School), Ailee Gessert-Ma (Dos Pueblos High School), Evan Grant (Dos Pueblos High School), Emma Holmstrom (Carpinteria High School), Preston Mathis (Dos Pueblos High School), Kailani Neyra Wahlberg (Dos Pueblos High School), Ella Noyes (Providence School), Melina Ochoa (Dos Pueblos High School), Diesel Pirman (Dos Pueblos High School), Katelyn Symons (Dos Pueblos High School), Vicky Tang (Dos Pueblos High School), Jennifer Vazquez Gonzalez (Dos Pueblos High School), and Nansy Velasquez (Carpinteria High School).

The Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara is the nation’s largest community-based provider of college scholarships, having cumulatively awarded more than $137 million to over 55,000 county students since its founding in 1962. A nonprofit organization, the Scholarship Foundation also provides free financial aid advising services. For additional information, visit www.sbscholarship.org.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top