Scholarship Foundation Honors Local Student Artists

The Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara honored 24 student artists during a presentation and reception at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art on Thursday, January 24. Selected as winners of the Foundation’s 2019 Art Scholarship Competition, the students addressed family members and supporters in the museum’s Mary Craig Auditorium. Each will receive a scholarship, and their selected art submissions will be exhibited in the museum’s Family Resource Center through January 28.

“We are very pleased to recognize these talented young artists and provide them with opportunities to continue their studies,” said Victoria Juarez, president and CEO of the Scholarship Foundation. “Much of their work reveals a remarkable maturity and sureness of technique. Their evident skill is a testament to the quality of art instruction in local high schools. The Scholarship Foundation is proud to partner with area art teachers and their students.”

Each year the Scholarship Foundation invites high school seniors in southern Santa Barbara County to submit a portfolio of original work for its art scholarship competition. A panel of prominent local artists judge the submissions at the Santa Barbara Museum of Art’s Ridley-Tree Education Center at McCormick House. Seventy-nine student artists competed this year. The judging took place January 17. Each winner receives a $2,500 scholarship; the best of show winner receives an additional $1,000 scholarship. Serving as judges this year were Anthony Askew, Patti Jacquemain, and Wayne McCall.    

Camille Lubach from San Marcos High School was awarded the Schall Family Best of Show Prize. The other 2019 art scholarship winners are Katherine Benzian (Bishop Garcia Diego High School), Andrew Bresk (Dos Pueblos High School), Alejandra Cardona Vega (Carpinteria High School), Ivan Carrera (Dos Pueblos High School), Trevor English (Providence High School), Gabriel Farhadian (Providence High School), Hanadi Flaih (Dos Pueblos High School), Avalon Gagnon (Santa Barbara High School), Laura Gonzalez Urbano (Dos Pueblos High School), Sunny Graybill (Dos Pueblos High School), Alexa Hellman (Dos Pueblos High School), Eva Kilpper (Providence High School), Skyler Kirschke (Santa Barbara High School), Emma MacArthur-Warner (Dos Pueblos High School), Jazmin Martinez (Carpinteria High School), Athena Masthoff (Dos Pueblos High School), Kai McCarty (Dos Pueblos High School), Jesus Navarro (Dos Pueblos High School), Jenna Peterson (Providence High School), Viviana Torres-Torres (Carpinteria High School), Grace Wenzel (Santa Barbara High School), Natalie Williams (San Marcos High School), and Qichao Xu (San Marcos High School).

The Scholarship Foundation of Santa Barbara is the nation’s largest community-based provider of college scholarships, having cumulatively awarded in excess of $108 million to more than 50,000 county students since its founding in 1962. A nonprofit organization, the Scholarship Foundation also provides free financial aid advising services. For additional information, visit

Leave a Reply