Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation announces winners of 2018 competition


Prizes in Vocal and Instrumental Categories go to six emerging young artists.

The Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation held its annual competition on Sunday, April 29 at the Fess Parker Doubletree Resort (newly acquired by the Hilton corporation), emceed by PASF Board President Deborah Bertling.  Eleven outstanding musicians and vocal artists competed for scholarships amounting to $26,000 overall. 

In the instrumental category, prize winners were:  First Prize, Timothy Beccue (cello) a senior at Westmont College who studies with Trevor Handy; Second Prize, Sofia Malvinni (violin) is a student in the Core Knowledge Program at La Cumbre Junior High and studies with Valerie Malvinni; Third Prize, Ilana Shapiro (flute) studies with Catherine Ransom Karoly and attends Dos Pueblos High School; Fourth Prize, Josiah Frias from Lompoc,  will be studying guitar at Pepperdine in the fall with Christopher Parkening. 

“I’m grateful to be given the opportunity for financial support and multiple competing/performing opportunities offered by the scholarship foundation. During my time as a student, PASF has been a huge help in allowing me to pursue the activities that interest me. “ Tim Beccue, First Prize winner, Instrumental. 


Vocal competition winners were:  First Prize, Kelly Newberry (mezzo-soprano); Second Prize, Naomi Merer (soprano); Third Prize, Tyler Reece (baritone).  All three winners are Doctoral Candidates (Musical Arts) at UCSB. Kelly is from Isabel Bayrakdarian’s studio and Naomi and Tyler are with Dr. Linda DiFiore. 

All other entrants received Encouragement Awards. Judges for the competition were:

Ani Aznavoorian (cellist), John Ballerino (pianist/vocal coach), Carol Ann Manzi (soprano/vocal coach) and Geoffrey Rutkowski (cellist). 

The Performing Arts Scholarship Foundation was formed in 1982 by the late Mrs. Lincoln Dellar to provide aid to deserving vocal and instrumental students with professional potential, who live and/or study in the Santa Barbara area. For information about the organization and a list of previous winners visit the website at:

Photo: Timothy Beccue and Kelly Newberry 







Leave a Reply